An Email Is Headed
Your Way

We've sent a message
so you can pick a new password.

Reset Your Password

Think of a password that is at least 6 characters long.

Success! You now have a new password.

Please be sure to memorize it or write it in a safe place.


Are you sure you want to exit?
Your password will not be reset!



Are you sure you don't want to finish?
You're almost done!

We are missing your email address.

Please enter your or your parent's email address. We will only use your email address to reset your password should you forget it.

Sign Up for Free E-Newsletters


You're Signed up for {{nlctrl.form.newsletters.join(',')}}

The next newsletter will arrive in your inbox within a few weeks.

hey, {{userData.username}}!

Edit Your Profile


You can only put stickers
where you see the dotted



You have to sign in,

g Go Back

Patricia MacLachlan

Born: Cheyenne, United States of America

An American author of children's picture books and novels for middle-grade readers, Patricia MacLachlan, was born Patricia Pritzkau in Cheyenne, Wyo., March. 3, 1938, frequently focuses her stories on the family.

Sarah, Plain and Tall her spare and moving tale about a mail-order bride who profoundly influences two motherless pioneer children, won the Newbery Medal and the Scott O'Dell Historical Fiction Award. In 1994 she published a sequel, Skylark. With the exception of Tomorrow's Wizard (1982), a collection of fantastic tales, MacLachlan's books have been solidly grounded in realism. Even her early picture books bring a clear-eyed lack of sentimentality to such subjects as a loved one's blindness (Through Grandpa's Eyes, 1980) or mental illness (Mama One, Mama Two, 1982). Her themes are serious, but her stories are graced with droll humor and indelible vignettes. Many of her novels, including Arthur, for the Very First Time (1980), Cassie Binegar (1982), Unclaimed Treasures (1984), and The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt (1989), follow characters who grow by learning to see from another's point of view. MacLachlan's What You Know First (1995) is narrated by a small child facing her family's move to a new home. Caleb's Story (2001) is the third novel in the series begun with Sarah, Plain and Tall.